Ep 13: Banana Muffins!

This post has been sitting as a draft in my mind and in my blog for around 6 months now. I made these muffins back in October, but hopefully I remember most of the process to blog about it! I used a recipe similar to the one listed on taste of home to create the muffins.

dsc_0353
The ingredients I used for my banana muffins.

First, I peeled the very ripe bananas and placed them in a large mixing bowl for mashing. I didn’t want to use a blender and frankly bananas were soft enough for me to mash with a wooden spoon. Once the bananas were mashed well enough, I added a splash of vanilla extract, cane sugar and melted margarine into the mixture, stirring as I did so to make sure it was evenly mixed. Smelt so good already. The cane sugar was running low and I didn’t have enough to fulfill the recipe so I tasted the mixture to make sure it was sweet enough. Sure enough it was sweet enough for me at least. So I added in the raw egg, mixed it up and prepped my dry ingredients.

In another mixing bowl, I combined the flour, salt, and baking soda. For some reason the recipe I was using asked for baking soda and baking powder. Since I only had soda, I added just a pinch more to hopefully compensate it. Yes, you can tell I don’t care for recipes. If baking wasn’t so formulaic I would be eyeballing everything! Alas, that is not the case.

tada! dry ingredients. Flour and pink sea salt. Yum :D Oh yeah baking soda as well is inside. Less yum. I don't believe it's wise to have raw baking soda.
tada! dry ingredients. Flour and pink sea salt. Yum :D Oh yeah baking soda as well is inside. Less yum. I don’t believe it’s wise to have raw baking soda.

I slowly poured the dry ingredients into my wet mixture while stopping to stir. Once everything was incorporated, it was time to pour the mixture into the muffin tins. :D I believe I cooked the muffins at 350 for around 20 minutes. However, I read the recipe wrong and thought it said it would take 15 minutes. Apparently they take 15 minutes for mini muffins. :/ Needlessly to say, I was checking those muffins with my pointy sticks far too often then I was supposed to.

Why can’t recipes be more straightforward to read? Like really? It’s great that you included the mini muffin times, but as a person who is already distracted by cooking, they don’t want to be hunting waldo like instructions while on the go. Make your recipes easily readable. >:C Maybe it’s just me. I’m just terrible at reading things.

After 25 minutes or so, the muffins were done and I took them out to cool down before testing out the batch before sending it off to friends.

I would most likely make these muffins again. They’re very easy to make and was delightful to eat.

2 thoughts on “Ep 13: Banana Muffins!

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

