Truthwitch – Review

Truthwitch

Susan Dennard


Third POV – Jumps between characters, First in the Witchland Series, Fantasy

Summary

Two witches, Safiya, a Truthwitch,  and Iseult, a Threadwitch, enact an overzealous plot to gain back their lost gold, which of course backfires and causes a brawl with a powerful guildmaster and its Bloodwitch bodyguard. Now they’re wanted and they have to do everything in their power to evade capture to ensure their freedom. Evading a Bloodwitch is harder than some would think, but by the hands of fate, Safiya meets Prince Merik, a windwitch, who becomes an ally. Even with their new found ally, they still might not be able to escape the skills of the Bloodwitch and the attempts from other parties to capture the Truthwitch.

My rating: 5/5

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Thoughts/Comments

Truthwitch starts off right into the action, which I absolutely loved. It’s been a while since I read a novel that incorporated action and exposition. Throughout the novel there’s not really a dull in the action. There’s always something going on one way or another. Despite a very strong start, the story takes a while to really give the reader a reason to care for the two main characters, Safiya and Iseult and because of this I found myself putting down the book fairly often in the beginning. This is always a consequence of having an action packed exposition. Once I was able to dedicate the time to read the novel I was able to finish it up within a few days.

It’s a well written novel. The writing is fluid and reads well. The diction makes sense and contributes to the novel’s overall atmosphere. I would say it’s one of the better written YA fantasy novels out there. There were barely any purple sentences, awkward descriptions or pauses that caught me off guard. This is fairly surprising because there’s a lot of action scenes in the novel and not one of them were awkwardly written to the point I had to go back and reread it again just to get a better idea of it. That’s definitely a plus. You would be surprised at how many novels out there have really awkward action scenes.

The characters are very well developed. There’s a lot of backstory to them and their inner motivations are quite deep. The story doesn’t go through everyone’s backstory though, there is still a lot of mystery for most of the main characters, but enough is revealed that we’re able to connect with the characters more. I’m very interested in learning more about the Bloodwitch. His sass might be one of favourite traits about him. Also Safiya and Iseult has an interesting past together, it’s been hinted and explained a few times, but it feels like there’s more to their past then we realize.

Truthwitch’s world building was pretty well done. The settings were well described and I was able to imagine it clearly in my mind. I felt like I had a good grasp of what each of the lands were like and their relationships with other lands. I’m looking forward to learning more about the world and how each country will interact in the future novels.

Overall, I would recommend to check out Truthwitch if you’re looking for a nice easy fantasy read. I found the plot to be fascinating and the characters to be intriguing. Some of them have connections to each other that haven’t been explained yet, just hinted at. Totally wanna know what’s up with that. So yeah, this novel had it all for me. Great writing, good world building, interesting characters and a plot to make me keep reading. It’s an above average book for me. I’m surprised it’s not well received on goodreads. Take that as you will.

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

