Fate of Flames – Review

Fate of Flames

Sarah Raughley


First POV – Urban Fantasy, First in a Series, Supernatural Creatures

Edit: Got this book for free from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

Four girls with elemental powers used to protect the world plagued by creatures called Phantoms. These girls were known as Effigies. Cities now are protected by technology, barriers and protection fields meant to keep out the phantoms so the world had no use for the Effigies, so they became glamorous tokens. It isn’t long before technology starts to fail and now the world is once again in need of protection.

My rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Thoughts/Comments

Usually with first person narrative, it’s a hit and miss with me, however, I was able to enjoy the writing with Fate of Flames. The narrative had a great voice and the plot was compelling enough to keep me reading. You can really get a sense of what Maia’s personality is based on the narrative, which is a sign of good writing. I also enjoyed reading about the other main characters. I found them to be interesting, in-depth and well developed. The other characters, such as the other Effgies, felt more shallow to me. I wish there was more development on them, but seeing how this is a first in the series, there’s more chances for them to shine later on.

The magic system in this world was not described properly to me. It felt very smoke and mirrors. Lots of stuff happen with the magic, but it’s not explained and described properly so you are forced to try to imagine how the magic would work and how it would appear. Maybe this was intentional, maybe this was a sign of lack of world development. Either way, I expected the magic system to be better.

Most of this novel was an action paced exposition. That means a lot of crazy stuff happens, but there’s very little plot expansion. There was a lot of set up for future conflict, but this novel ends with no conclusion or no actual plot value. You get a feel for what the story is, but you will have to wait until the next books in the series to fully experience the story the author intended to share. I wish there was an actual full plot line in this novel rather than to be given half a plot. Not going to lie though, they did a great job building intrigue for me. I had many questions about the story, characters, and their motives, that it kept me reading further. Unfortunately, many of my questions were not answered. I guess I’ll have to wait for the next series to get them answered. If I even care for this series still.

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

