Ep 11: Chia Seed Pudding

Hello everyone!

Like the title suggests, I’ll be sharing my experience with creating a chia seed pudding! I used coconut milk instead of milk because I was making this for my family and friends. They’re lactose so I wanted to be considerate to their needs.

ingredients: (left to right) organic chia seeds, coconut milk, vanilla, condensed milk.
ingredients: (left to right) organic chia seeds, coconut milk, vanilla, condensed milk.

I made this using the recipe from OhSheGlows. They use almond milk instead, but I didn’t have any so I used the next best thing. Actually, I was able to make this twice and in the second rendition I used soy milk instead and it worked out fine. The consistency was different from the coconut milk, but overall it was the same dish.

Moving on, I dumped the entire can of coconut milk, a few pinches of cinnamon and nutmeg into a mixing bowl. I added 1.5 tablespoons of condensed milk as well as a teaspoon of vanilla and began to mix it up with a whisk. After it looked like it was all nicely mixed, I slowly added the chia seed until there was a good ratio of liquid and chia seed. Now I don’t know the exact ratio since I don’t really cook with measurements, but I would say 1/2 cup or 1 cup of chia seeds. Be careful with the amount of seeds you add into the mixture, if you add too much, then the pudding will just be seeds. If you add to little then there wouldn’t be enough seeds to create that jiggly pudding texture.

dsc_1144
LOL I don’t think that was a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon. Basically add seasoning to make your tastebuds.

I put it in the fridge for about 30 mins and topped it up with frozen fruit when it was ready to serve. :D I liked the taste of the chia seed pudding. The coconut milk offered a very thick milky taste to it, while the soy milk was more mild in the taste. Either one was very delicious and if you ever had chia seed pudding before, tell me about your thoughts on it. How do you make your chia seed pudding?

Chia seed pudding

6 thoughts on “Ep 11: Chia Seed Pudding

      • Kuro Suzuki

        Lol oooooh. Ok, if I ever try it, I’ll keep it in mind. Any chance you know how long it’ll stay good for in the fridge? like how long it’ll last before it goes bad.

        Liked by 1 person

        • DrAwkto

          It should stay good for around 4-5 days. Max a week. I wouldn’t risk any longer than that. Then again I don’t really keep track of how long it stays in the fridge for. I remember having one bowl of it in the fridge for a while (3+ days) and it was still good.

          It really depends on how long your soy milk stays good for as well. Hopefully that helps. :D

          Like

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

