Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

J.K Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne


Script – Part of Harry Potter Series, Draft, Magic

Summary

This story follows Harry Potter’s middle child and his struggles to be the child of the famous Harry Potter. Throughout the script, you’ll be able to meet the other characters from the Harry Potter series.

My rating: 2.5/5

Goodreads Rating: 3/5

Thoughts/Comments

Remember, a 3/5 on goodreads means I liked it. Now why did I like this novel? I think it’s because it was a throw back to my childhood where I grew up reading Harry Potter, so being able to read something new about his world made me happy. I enjoyed the novel for the most part. I loved learning about Albus and his friend, Scorpius. Their silly interactions made me smile.

Reading a script allowed me to focus on the dialogue and how each character said things to reveal their personality and their relationship with others. I enjoyed reading about Hermione and how she interacted with Harry and Ginny. Same for Draco with the others. It was a refreshing change from all the novels I have been reading lately.I forgotten how great scripts could be. That being said, I am not saying that Cursed Child was a great script. Mind you it is a rehearsal script, therefore, there will be more information and edits made before it’s officially released.

I felt like the script writers had forgotten the characteristics of the existing characters. Ron felt out of character. His lines were pointless and added nothing to the script, nor did it show of his true character. It’s like they forgotten how Ron was in the novels. I also thought the plot twist was a bit ridiculous. Sure, it could have happened, but there wasn’t any foreshadowing or hints of his desires in the novels. That’s why when the twist was revealed it was outrageous. At least to me.

Overall, there’s more that could have been done with the rehearsal script. Better stage descriptions, better stage cues, as well as, a better editor for the script. Having such a drastic change in well established characters makes it seem like the script is more of a fan fiction rather than a story part of the Harry Potter universe. I did find the story mostly enjoyable, so I guess that says something about my reading tastes doesn’t it? Haha.

 

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

