Ep 9: Tofu Chunk Pasta

Today, I’m throwing together a super simple recipe! I wanted pasta, but I also wanted to do something vegetarian for my parents. Since I’m always making western foods, I  decided to go more into my Asian roots.

Basically this came about because I saw ingredients laying about the kitchen. I didn’t plan to make this until I saw them. You’ll notice that everything is pretty ad hoc and there’s no actual reason and rhyme to why I chose these ingredients.

I was looking into the fridge and saw that I had some smoked tofu in the fridge and I was pretty interested in using it. I don’t even remember buying this. The smokiness of the tofu was delicious and gave a great earthy tone. There was also some dried goji berries laying on the counter so I gave them a wash and decided to use them as well. Goji berries have a nice sweetness to them, therefore, I didn’t have to use too much sugar in the dish.

I written out a recipe for you guys to follow, but since I threw everything together there are no measurements. Just use as much as you think seems right for the dish.


20160603_173332

Ingredients:

Firm Tofu (you can use smoked if you want)

Goji Berries (dried or fresh, doesn’t matter)

Walnuts

Lee Kum Kee – Char Sui Sauce

Spaghetti (or any pasta of your choice)

Cane Sugar

Salt and Pepper

Instructions:

Prep: Cube the tofu into bite size pieces. Wash the goji berries. Boil a pot of salt water and toss the dried pasta noodles inside.

Cook: Drizzle cooking oil of your choice inside the frying pan. I used coconut oil, but you’re free to use whatever you want.

Toss the tofu inside the frying pan.

Once the tofu is turning brown, add walnuts and goji berries.

Add in a few scoops of char sui sauce. Add water if you think you added too much.

Add salt and pepper to taste. If the food isn’t sweet enough add some sugar. Once everything is all warmed up, take the pan off to the side and start plating.

Toss some oil into the pasta before you put it on the plate. Then top your tofu mixture on top. Enjoy!


This was a pretty easy lunch meal. I enjoyed making it and will most likely try making it again in the future if I ever get more firm tofu. Apparently I made a lot of the tofu mixture so we ended up pairing the leftovers with rice. It tasted just as great! My parents were pretty impressed I was able to pull something like this off. Honestly it was just the work of the char sui sauce. It was the thing that gave the dish its flavour.

If you give this recipe a try, let me know what you think. Haha I’m doubtful anyone will, but who knows! That’s all for this episode! Enjoy the rest of your day

 

One thought on “Ep 9: Tofu Chunk Pasta

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

