A Reaper of Stone – Review

A Reaper of Stone

Mark Gelineau


Third POV, First in a Series, Fantasy

Goodreads Summary

A Lady is dead. Her noble line ended. And the King’s Reaper has come to reclaim her land and her home. In the marches of Aedaron, only one thing is for certain. All keeps of the old world must fall. Elinor struggles to find her place in the new world. She once dreamed of great things. Of becoming a hero in the ways of the old world. But now she is a Reaper. And her duty is clear. Destroy the old. Herald the new.

My rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads Rating: 3/5

Thoughts/Comments

Disclaimer: I received this novel from Netgalley in return for an honest review.

This novel was short, but it was an easy and enjoyable read. The story was interesting and well paced, however, it was very basic, almost skeletal in fact. I wish there was more story elements that was developed further. Most of the characters felt flat. Even the main characters didn’t have a lot of meat to them. Yet, I was very interested in how they would react to events in the story. Not only that, I did enjoy the dynamic between Con and Elinor’s dialogue and interactions together.

 

The characters definitely have potential. Therefore, I do think that further novels in this series will focus on character development. Don’t get me wrong, the main characters had some backstory and characterization to it, but it didn’t feel enough for this story. I definitely wanted more. I guess that’s what the other novels are for, right?

 

The writing is pretty decent in this novel. There was some awkward sentences here and there, but overall it wasn’t anything jarring.  I feel like the world building was penalized, due to the length of this novel. There was some world building in the novel, and it was pretty good. Again, I wanted more world building with this novel. I liked the lore and the mystery behind the creatures.

 

The conclusion of the story left off in a great note. I really enjoyed the ending. It left off with the potential for more stories to come which is exciting because I felt like this novel was a great introduction to further adventures.

 

Overall, this novel is decent, hence my 3.5 rating. It’s not good, but it’s better than okay. Story is good, characters are okay, world building could be better, and writing is decent. If you’re looking for a quick, simple fantasy novel to read, I suggest picking up A Reaper of Stone and giving it a try.

9 thoughts on “A Reaper of Stone – Review

  1. rakioddbooks

    I entered the goodreads giveaways for this book so many times, never won. After reading your review… I don’t think I’ll be entering anymore. It doesn’t seem like something I would enjoy as much as I would hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

