The Blogger Recognition Award

Big shout out to Katherine @ Fabled Haven for awarding me this! She has such a great blog. Her content is constant and her thoughts are very interesting to read about. It was pretty lucky of me to stumble on to her blog. If you got a second, check some of her content out. She awarded me this almost a month ago, took a while for me to finally do it, but it’s here now! Thanks again!

bloggerrec_award

RULES:

Write a post to show your award

Give a brief story of how your blog started

Give two advice to new bloggers

Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog

Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to


History of Inky Awkto

I’ve been a blogger since July 2012, but I was a co-author of a blog called Dorkiverse with a friend. Eventually that broke down and it felt weird for me to continue a blog that was originally worked on as a team. I didn’t feel like it was truly mine. Therefore, I went off to create The Inky Awkto. The Inky Awkto serves as a portal for my personal thoughts and diverse hobbies. I started off focusing mostly on books because I love to read and having a blog created an opportunity for me to share my thoughts on novels and to discuss with other readers out there. I didn’t have many friends that talked about books with me nor did they share the same reading interests if they did. I figured having a blog would help alleviate some of the desire to find others to discuss novels with me. It later became more apparent to me that my friends also don’t play the same games as me, so Inky Awkto helped me have a place to discuss my gaming habits as well.

 It’s been a great start with The Inky Awkto and I met so many great book bloggers because of it. I don’t plan on giving up blogging just yet. Fun fact, Awkto comes from the words Awkward Octopus which is a stuffed animal from Wong Fu.


Advice to New Bloggers

Be Active

Like Katherine, I also believe that there’s merit into having an active blog. This advice doesn’t cater to just having an active blog, you also need to be active in the community as well. Find some other book bloggers that interest you. Be friend them. Talk to them and get to know who they are. It serves as a good marketing technique because it gets your name and blog out there in the community without being so intrusive about it.

Have Your Own Voice

This one is a bit tricky to figure out, but in the end you’ll want to make sure you can clearly communicate your thoughts and personality out in your blog posts. You wouldn’t want to read a story where all the characters have the same opinions, viewpoints, and voice would you? That would be pretty boring. It’s the same for blogging as well. I’m not saying force yourself to be unique, no, I’m saying be yourself and make sure you can articulate your personality well. That’s all. :D You are you and no one else can be you, so why not show us who that person is? Cheesy I know. I’m not good with words. Blah.


Nominations:

Now I don’t have a full list of 15 bloggers to award this too. I do have some people I do like to read about and interact with them. Check them out if you’re interested. They’re pretty awesome.

Jen @ Jen’s Bookish Journey

Raquel @ Rakioddbooks

Hayley @ Hayley Sprout

Once Upon a Book

Jessica @ The Awkward Book Blogger

Natalie @ Other Side Quests

14 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. rakioddbooks

    Yay! Thank you for nominating me!
    That’s really great advice. I think the second one is the hardest, I’m still working on it. I need help!
    You’ve been blogging for a really long time. Do you think you’ll continue this for a really long time or have you thought about a time you would like to stop?

    Liked by 1 person

    • DrAwkto

      You’re welcome! haha bloggers need recognition sometime and you definitely earned it. I know the second one is very hard. It took me a while to stop sounding so formal and to be more of myself. I stopped stressing out about getting my posts edited and such, because in reality we don’t edit most of our thoughts. what is spoken is spoken. You can’t just take that back. So I wanted to be as real as possible with this new blog. :D

      That’s a very good question. I think there was a time where I took a break from blogging to re-evaluate what I had to offer to Dorkiverse. I wasn’t much of a beauty blogger, nor, was I trained well in wellness. I did have my books, so after realizing that I tried contributing to Dorkiverse with book reviews and it just felt wrong. I took another break then to decide how to carry forward, and the solution was a new blog. :D

      I believe I’ll continue blogging for a long time. The future is mysterious though, however, as long as I enjoy pumping out my content and interacting with you folks then everything will be great! Even talking about blogging like this is very motivating.

      One day life will get too busy for me to blog as much as I want too. However, I’ll always try too create drafts or schedule posts whenever I can. Even if it’s just a rush of Fuyu Moments rather than actual content.

      Can’t wait to hear what you have to say about your blog’s origin story!

      Liked by 1 person

      • rakioddbooks

        Aww, thank you! Ahh the pressure is on! Must come up with something good. Fuyu moments are fun to read! I’m considering making videos for my blog more, but… I’m not sure if it’s something I can do or if I really want to. Not booktubing though, just videos about stuff. Like my trip and my bookshelf.

        Liked by 1 person

        • DrAwkto

          yeah you should! they’re fun to watch. but a ton of work. I would know because I did a Sims 4 build video. it took a few hours to edit and i still have to make the voice over for the footage. ahhh!

          so if that kind of stuff interest you where you like editing and such then you’ll be enjoying video making for a while. :D vlogs like such are nice to get to know people. I follow a YouTuber that vlogs in a way she would interact with her friends. it’s really cute and quirky.

          anyone can make videos, it’s just the question of time, effort and motivation.
          I also thought about making videos because I get too lazy to write sometimes but then I realized making videos or podcasts as a work around is still going to require some amount of effort to make.

          Also thanks, I’m glad to hear someone enjoys my fuyu moments haha.

          Liked by 1 person

          • rakioddbooks

            So much work! I actually recorded half of a bookshelf tour but I had like 45 minutes of footage and it was only one shelf. I was like nope. Still not sure how I feel about showing my face. I’m shy!
            Please, if you have time and feel like it, make a video of you cooking!! I think that would be so awesome! But only if you want.

            Liked by 1 person

          • DrAwkto

            hahah it would be awesome but I’m like you idk how I’ll feel with my face shown. I mean I do have videos of me around the internet but that’s because of school. either than that, I have a pretty low profile.

            Also I’ll need a tripod hahah and I don’t talk when I cook. I just do whatever and then food is made haha.

            Also with footage that is long like that, you can increase the speed of the playback so it goes faster, and just do a voice over during the editing process.

            bookshelf tours are long videos because there’s so many books and things to talk about. haha

            Liked by 1 person

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

