Birthstone Booktag

Coming at you with another book tag! This one is a little more interesting compared to all the other ones I have done. I found this one @imanadventurest and @FableHaven. Both have pretty neat answers so check them out.

If the book tag interests you, here’s a clean template for it. Gotta make it easy for my fellow book bloggers to do the tags as well right? :D


Garnet (January): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energiesName a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

Awe man, I would say Umbridge from Harry Potter. That women is pure evil.

Amethyst (February): Purple is associated with royaltyName a book with regal qualities. You can base this off of characters or choose the King of all books.

Jasnah Kholin was the first person I thought of after reading this question. She’s from the Stormlight Archive series and is a very strong female character.

Aquamarine (March): Washed Out. Name a ‘wishy washy’ character. A character who is not strong or a follower. 

Allysa from Splintered. That series has such a forced love triangle it’s so annoying. Not to mention that Allysa is just so weak-willed. Ugh. Reading her thoughts is just mind numbing.

Diamond (April): A Diamond in the rough. Named a book that you loved, but that is not well known.

Hmm before it was Poison Study and that was like years ago that it was not well known. Now it’s popular, so I guess I would have to say, Bound by Donna Jo Napoli.

Emerald (May): Said to balance energy.  – Name two characters who balance each other well.

Victor and Eli from Vicious. I loved the dynamics they had one with one another. Ahh. <3

Pearl (June): Associated with loyalty. – Name a character who is loyal to the end. 

Definitely Samwise Gamgee. Seriously, he wins the friend of the year award.

Ruby (July): Blood red. Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry. 

There are many books that did this, and usually it’s the books I dropped. I think Unhinged or Her Dark Curiosity. Unhinged was annoying because of the love triangle as well as just Allysa’s overall logic and personality. UGH. Weak-willed characters are aggravating to read about. WAIT! Also Red Queen. I have so much disdain for that novel. It’s saddening because so many people like it. :C

Peridot (August): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems). Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character. 

Shoot. I have one on the tip of my tongue. I feel like it’s one of the characters in Red Rising that I liked better than the main characters. Oh! I liked the best friend and Art3mis from Ready Player One, more than Wade. And the Twins. I liked the twins a lot in Ready Player One as well.

Sapphire (September): Blue like the ocean which is calming.  Name a book that had a calming effect on you.

100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared. Boy, that title is a dozy. Reading the novel is very relaxing for me. It’s entertaining and the events that occur are unbelievably strange that it’s comforting to me to read.

Opal (October): Iridescent. Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it of a character (Quirky? Colourful?)

A Thousand Nights. I love the cover for this novel. Super elegant. I picked it up because I was interested in the story, but I equally pleased that the cover was breath-taking.

Topaz (November): Associated with resilience. Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

LOL literally every Main Character in most dystopian novels, especially in Young Adult. Therefore, I rather not waste my time choosing one and then explaining the process in which the character took that made me decide they were the perfect answer for this question. LOL all of them are perfect answers for it.  Don’t really understand what I mean? I’m welcome to explain it down below in a question.

Blue Zircon (December): Associated with friendship. Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

I think Kaladin and Syph from Stormlight Archive. I really like their relationship and often when I was reading Way of the Kings, I would imagine me interacting with the both of them, which is uncommon for me to do.


Woot woot. That’s the end of the book tag. Hope you enjoyed reading my answers. Now, at the end of this book tag it wasn’t required for me to tag others, however, I’m interested in seeing what some of my friends would put as answers. Therefore, I shall be tagging them. I hope you guys don’t mind! And if you aren’t tagged. You’re welcome to do the tag anyways. Again, here’s a clean template of the book tag so you can copy and paste it easier. :D

Anyways, here are the victims!

Jen

Jessica

Raquel

I can’t wait to see what you guys have to say about this tag. And if the tag doesn’t interest you, don’t worry about doing it. I know there can be some pressure involved being tagged on things, but no worries! :D There won’t be any hard feelings at all.

20 thoughts on “Birthstone Booktag

    • DrAwkto

      Haha once you do, i’ll love to hear what you think about it. And thanks, i thought the tag was pretty fun to do. :D Link me down below once you do it so i can check out your answers as well :D

      Liked by 1 person

    • DrAwkto

      Hahaha oh God. Triggered. I forgot that was a thing. Must go to happy place. Shame cause I really like wonderland. Why can’t there be a good novel inspired by wonderland? Everything is starting to sound like bad fan fiction.

      Like

      • TheBookishUnderdog

        Too much romance, that’s why! And in retellings Alice is always older (so that she can get caught up in love triangles, usually). I mean, if the original worked really well with a child narrator, why do the retellings not do this too?!

        Liked by 1 person

        • DrAwkto

          Haha probably because people want to see their fantasies with Mad Hatter, or any of the other quirky characters be fulfilled?

          Too much romance indeed. Love triangles bother me too much. To be fair, I preferred her with Morphorus instead of the human boy. Haha.

          Like

          • DrAwkto

            Jeb. I know right? And the whole thing with him and his girlfriend, but he wants to get with Allysa. It’s kinda like ” Seriously.”

            I think he just got jealous seeing Allysa possibly falling for another guy or was jealous over the possibility of seeing another guy take her from him. Like some sort of object. I feel like Jeb was very possessive over Allysa, when he had no right to be.

            Have you finished the series? I didn’t read the last novel, but I know what happens in the end in terms of the boys. I would love to discuss it with you.

            Like

          • TheBookishUnderdog

            Afraid I only read the first one. I felt like it was all kind of wrapped up so any sequels would just be money-spinners. I might read them at some point in the future though!

            He was awful. Like you say, so so jealous and unnecessarily so!

            Liked by 1 person

          • DrAwkto

            Haha, it was definitely money-grabber for sure. The second book was just so confusing and a waste of a read. Haha the boys fought even more annoying for her.

            And darn, won’t be able to tell you what happens to the love triangle then. Oh well. :D

            Like

          • DrAwkto

            Haha Oh man. this is great. From what others have told me she ends up with both of them. Since Jeb is human, her time with him is limited, so she’s going to spend Jeb’s lifetime with Jeb. Once he dies, she’ll go to the underland and hang out with Morphorus, like nothing ever happened. LOL

            I would like to see another novel where she returns to Morphorus, only to find out that he’s moved on from her. LOL And she has to battle her inner struggles on whether or not she made the right decision. Kidding. My idea sounds awful.

            Liked by 1 person

          • DrAwkto

            Haha yes. Apparently so. Just hearing about the ending makes me wanna read it just to experience the guy’s reactions. But hmm 300 pages of Allysa’s personality. Not ideal. Haha.

            I could be wrong though. Since I haven’t read it and I’m only basing it off of humans.

            Like

  1. rakioddbooks

    Thank you for tagging me! I was trying to answer as I read along and I just couldn’t think of suitable answers! What in the world? I think, perhaps, I need to broaden my reading horizons or read more :P

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

