The Wrath and the Dawn – Review

The Wrath and the Dawn

Renee Ahdieh


Third POV – Jumps between characters, First in a series, Fairy Tale Retelling

Summary

Khalid, the boy-king who rules the land, takes a bride every night. And every morning, he executes them with a silk thread. When Shahrzad’s best friend, Shiva, is killed, a storm of fury unleashes within Shahrzad and she’ll stop at nothing until she can get her revenge.

My rating: 4/5

Goodreads Rating: 3/5

Thoughts/Comments

The summary in Goodreads gives away more of the plot then it should have. You’re welcome to read their summary, if you’re not satisfied with mine.

The beginning of this novel did not capture my attention. It felt boring to me. Not sure if it was an off day for me, but it just didn’t capture me. I didn’t care for any of the characters. Even after finishing off the novel, I still don’t care for them. I was interested in the mystery to Khalid. I wanted to know why he killed all those females, or if he was a crazy kid. From the summary, it’s clear that Shahrzad would fall in love with Khalid. I enjoy the way the romance developed. Slow, yet passionate.

What did draw me in was the wonderful descriptions that the author gave to the reader. They were very in depth and well done. My favourite parts of the books were when they were describing the food. The author did such a fantastic job of it that I was able to imagine it right in front of me. It was very vivid writing.

The writing and the development of the romance is what made me like this novel. If it wasn’t for those two elements, my rating would have dropped. The Wrath and the Dawn is a very interesting retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. It’s vivid imagery is definitely something you should check out if you’re in the mood for a Middle Eastern inspired novel.

3 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn – Review

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

