The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

It’s time for another tag. I was searching through wordpress to see what kinds of book tags there were available that’s when I stumbled on to this one from Emily on her blog. She has a very intensive list of book tags she has done, so if you’re ever looking for a book tag, I would suggest checking out her list.

Note: I have edited a few of the questions so they made more sense. Also if you’re looking for a template of this, I have made one. I get really tired of copying someone’s post and then having to clean it up and reformat it so that it matches my blog style. Hopefully my template helps you. I’ll be doing this for all my book tags now.

How long have you been a blogger?

Since 2012. I started out being a beauty product reviewer. But then I realized I didn’t have a passion for that stuff. I use the stuff that works for me and that’s it. I started this blog in Fall 2015 though.

At what point do you think you will stop?

Probably not in the near future. I’ll most likely stop when life becomes too busy for me to blog, also when I stop enjoying blogging.

What is the best thing about being a blogger?

Sharing my interests and being able to talk to like minded individuals about them. I don’t have much friends that share the same interests I have about books. This blog also serves as an archive of my thoughts that I don’t feel like sharing with my friends, as well as, activities that I do with my friends, such as cooking. That and I really enjoy having something to call mine. And it’s pretty fun playing around with blog themes.


What is the worst thing about being a blogger? What do you do to make it okay?

Before it was discovering my own voice. I like to believe I have discovered it now. Therefore, the next worse thing about being a blogger is trying not to ramble in blog posts. I proofread my posts the best as I can before scheduling it. If I’m not pressed for time, I’ll leave it for a few days before coming back and editing the post to make sure the content is not a ramble. You should hear me do in-prompt to presentations, I ramble like it’s my full time job. It’s fairly embarrassing.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

Feature images for my series, such as Cooking with Fuyu and #rockmytbr, took around 20-60 mins. I use a mixture of Sai, Photoshop, and Illustrator.

If you notice on my blog, I barely have any images on it. This is a stylistic choice because I’m too lazy to get feature images, and frankly I don’t mind that my blog is mostly text. I am a hobbyist writer, so chunks of text doesn’t bother me. I don’t write for anyone, I write for myself and if others find it interesting, then great. If not, no harm done.

Most of my images come from real life events and those are just shot with the intention of sharing with my friends. I don’t monitor the time and effort it takes to get those images.

Who is your book crush?

I don’t really have one. I was a huge fan of Maria v Snyder though. It’s been a while since I read her novels. And I was a fan of Brandon Sanderson as well, but that died down as well.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Most likely the two authors I mentioned in the previous question.

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

Whatever I happen to be wearing at the time I sat down at my desk. Mostly pjs.

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

Depends on the post really. My average is around 20mins for random stuff and shorter book tags. It’s around 45 mins for longer book tags, as well as the cooking series posts because I have to work with my photos and remember the cooking process.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

It’s alright. I’ve met some really great people so far. :D And I’ve been trying to reach out to other book bloggers, but it’s pretty tricky.

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

I’m not expert on this, but I have noticed things that work for popular bloggers. I created a new page for this answer because I didn’t like how long it was making this post. That and I wanted to add my own thoughts and feedback on the points I was making. Plus if you’re not interested in learning what I think makes a successful blog, you now are saved from my thoughts.

Emily’s answer for this was on point and very concise, I recommend checking out her answers for this question.


Anyways, that’s all for the tag. I enjoyed doing this. The questions made me think about what makes me enjoy blogging and why I got into it. I know there has been some book tags that hit on a few of the questions in this tag, but there’s no harm of reiterating. I’m going to tag people to do this tag, but if you’re not tagged and wish to do it, feel free. Also please leave a link in the comment afterwards so I can check your our answers.

Ohoh. The Tag Victims:

Jen @ Jen’s Bookish Journey

Raquel @ Rakioddbooks

Astra @ A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

Jen @ Combustible Reviews

You guys are welcome not to do this tag if you don’t want to. I don’t mind. I thought it would be interesting to read your answers. :D

That’s all for now. Until next time!

 

10 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

    • DrAwkto

      Awe thanks. I’d like to think I’m improving from my rambles, but we’ll see in a few weeks. I got a presentation then.

      Tags are pretty hard, I’ve gotten a few hard ones lately, but overall I still like doing them. I hope you enjoy doing this one if you decide to do it. :D And you’ll know for sure I’ll be on the lookout for it! :D

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

