The Dimsum Booktag

This book tag was created by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading with Jenna.

Warning: This book tag might make you hungry.

Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

I was tagged by the awesome Raquel @ Rakioddbooks during the late hours of my day. I happened to be awake and browsing WordPress when I noticed the tag. Haha. I dug my own hungry grave at that point. I’m going to grab a snack while I work on this booktag. -nibbles on some cheese- Alright, it’s time to start!

RULES:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

TEA: A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF HOT BUT TURNED COLD QUICKLY

I’m going to say The Leveller, Confessions of a Hater, and Nexis. Nexis started off hot for like a few pages before I got annoyed at it. I continued reading through Nexis until reaching the middle and realizing this was very pointless. I skimmed to the late end, and the story finally picked up.

 

CHIU CHOW DUMPLING: A BOOK THAT FEATURES ELEMENTS OF LAND AND SEA

HA! Words of Radiance! I’m still not done this book, but I read enough of it to know that it has elements of both.

 

RICE NOODLE ROLL: A FAVOURITE MULTI-LAYERED CHARACTER OF YOURS (EG. TRAITS? SKILLS? MORALLY AMBIGUOUS?)

Hmm. Multi-layered. I would say Valek from Poison Study is pretty multi-layered. Him and the Commander.

 

SHRIMP DUMPLING: A BOOK WITH A TRANSPARENT BLURB THAT GIVES THE STORY AWAY

Not sure about this one. I even checked my bookshelves to see if I find a book that fulfilled this, couldn’t find anything.

 

STEAMED BBQ PORK BUNS: A BOOK THAT IS FLUFFY ON THE OUTSIDE BUT PACKS A PUNCH OF FLAVOUR (EG. MESSAGE? DEPTH? CONTROVERSY?)

I got nothing for this one too. D:

 

CHICKEN FEET: A BOOK WITH DIVIDED OPINIONS

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Either you love the pop culture references, or you hate it. I was one of the ones that really enjoyed the references, despite not growing up in that era.

LOTUS-WRAPPED STICKY RICE: A BOOK YOU’VE RECEIVED/GIVEN THAT WAS NICELY PACKAGED

Hmm I would say the giveaway prize I got from Kelsy @ BooknerdKels was one of the more nicely packaged book gifts. Also it’s been an incredibly long time since I’ve received any books from anyone. They’re too creative with their gifts. -puffs-

 

EGG CUSTARD TART: A BOOK THAT USES SIMPLE INGREDIENTS AND CLICHES BUT EXECUTES IT PERFECTLY

I don’t think I remember a book like this. Sorry ><”

 

MANGO PUDDING WITH EVAPORATED MILK: ANY BOOK RECOMMENDATION + BEVERAGE/SNACK THAT’S A WINNING COMBINATION

White Oleander and a glass of alcohol because trust me, if you’re reading that novel you’ll need it. It’s very dark and messed up, but it’s amazing.

 

FRIED SESAME BALLS: A BOOK COVER WITH EMBOSSED TEXT/DESIGN YOU JUST LOVE TO RUN YOUR FINGERS OVER

The Way of Kings – Brandon Sanderson. That tome of a novel made it so that I spent many hours running my fingers up and down the covers as I read through the novel.

 

DIM SUM STEAM CART: THE TYPE OF CARRYING BAG YOU USE TO BRING BOOKS AROUND

My very very sad backpack. The bottom is giving out on it. It’s been like that for a year now, but it’s finally showing so much tear at the bottom that I fear for its life.  I’m quietly hoping that the bag will last me a few more weeks, while I hunt down another backpack.

 


I TAG:

Justine @ Bookworm Maniac

Anneliz @ Pageavu

Natalie @ Stabbing Stardust

Jen @ Jen Bookish Journey

And you! Yup, if you’re reading this and you definitely wanna do this tag go ahead. If you feel like it, you can leave a link to your post down below and  I’ll read it to see what you think. It’s fun reading up answers from other people. :D

 

Thanks for reading! Thanks again to Raquel for tagging me in a deliciously awesome tag. It was fun! Hope you guys had fun reading my answers. Have you read any of the novels I mentioned? What did you think of them?

 

2 thoughts on “The Dimsum Booktag

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

