Escape From Witchwood Hallows – Review

Escape From Witchwood Hallows

Jordan Elizabeth Mierek


Third POV, Standalone,  Time Period Jumps

Note: I did receive this novel for free in return for an honest review.

Summary

Honoria lost her parents to the Twin Towers incident. To avoid anymore trauma, her brother and herself move out to Arnn to live with their aunt and uncle. During her time there she learns of a creepy urban legend about the witch in Witchhood Hallows, who steals people. Maybe using the witch’s magic Honoria will be able to re-unite with her deceased parents?

My Rating: 3/5

Goodreads Rating: 2/5

Thoughts/Comments

This book had a decent summary. To be honest, I read it because it had good reviews from my favourite author, Maria V Snyder. I usually don’t judge a book by its summary. Sometimes a book can have a pretty bad summary, but turn out to be pretty good. In the case of this novel, it was alright. The summary didn’t pull me and get me to read it, but I was slightly interested in it that’s for sure.

I didn’t like this book because I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, but the plot was decent enough for me to continue reading. I had pretty high hopes that the characters would be developed more throughout the novel, but that wasn’t the case. The characters did have pretty interesting backstories, it’s a shame that I wasn’t able to connect with them. I like Lady Clifford’s story. She was pretty interesting and I wish it was explored further in the novel.

Anyways, the writing was decent. It flowed well and the style wasn’t bad. The jumps between time periods allowed the reader to get more backstory to Witchwood Hallow. I wish it was done better, in the beginning, it felt like we weren’t given enough time to connect with the characters better before being thrown into another time period. Eventually, the backstory started to make more sense and connect with the main storyline, which was pretty great.

Either than that, it’s a pretty okay novel. Just because I didn’t like it, doesn’t mean other people won’t.

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

