Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge – Completed!

Woot. A little late, but I finished the 2015 goodreads reading challenge before the year ended. My goal was to read 50 books, which I thought wasn’t too hard of a challenge. By the last quarter of the year, I ended up getting a bit more stressed out on the amount of books I had to read in parallel to doing homework. I thought maybe I would feel a sense of accomplishment for finishing my goal this week, but I didn’t. Once I saw that I finished my goal, I shrugged and moved on to another book.

 

The challenge did encourage me to read as much as I can, and I was able to learn how to find random spots of time to read. However, it also added an abnormal amount of stress for me. And in the end it was just a number. Great, I read 50 books. So what? No one else really cares how many books I read. No one but me, and by the end of this challenge I really didn’t care. I didn’t care that read 50 novels, and some manga volumes. Did it show that I had a successful year of reading? Maybe, but in the end, this challenge did nothing for me.

 

This year, I’ll be using the goodreads reading challenge feature to keep a count of how many books I read. I won’t be giving myself a goal on how many books I should accomplish. Maybe I’ll read more than 50 books this year, maybe I’ll read less than 50 books. Whatever the number is, the important part is that I’m still reading this year.

 

Did you do the goodreads reading challenge? What did you think of it overall? Was your experience and outcome more positive than mine was?

 

2 thoughts on “Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge – Completed!

  1. Combustible reviews

    I enjoyed the challenge. More so being able to look over the books I’d read rather than reaching the target. Although, there was a sense of accomplishment for me when reaching that too.

    The reading is more important than the goal. I think if it’s affecting you’re enjoyment of reading then you’re making the right decision with not making the goodreads challenge a big deal. I made a similar decision with not forcing myself to finish books I don’t enjoy.

    Like

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

