Traitor’s Blade – Review

Traitor’s Blade

Sebastien de Castell


First POV, First volume in the Series, Fantasy

Summary

Falcio is the first Cantor of the Greatcoats. They are trained in the art of fighting and wear coats that protect them better than armor can. The Greatcoats are travelling Magisters who uphold King’s Law. That is until the King was killed by The Dukes, causing the Greatcoats to disband. Now the world around them regards the Greatcoats as traitors for letting the King die.

My Rating: 5/5

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Thoughts/Comments

Oh my gosh. I love this book so much. I read this book for my book club and to my surprise it was great. It’s a pretty fun and easy read. It’s a first person narrative that starts off addressing the reader directly, which was new to me. It’s not often you’ll read a book that does that. The characters made me a roller coaster of emotions. From laughing, smiling, raging, and being annoyed. This novel had it all. I found myself smiling and chuckling fairly often throughout the novel. The people riding the same train as me noticed my smiling. There were scenes in the novel that made me laugh out loud. Gah, I absolutely love every part of this novel and I plan on continuing the series.

Falcio is a pretty well rounded character. The more I read, the more I felt attached to him and the world around him. The more I learnt about Falcio and the Greatcoats, the more I wanted the Greatcoats to re-establish their honor and status in the world. It was definitely a tug of war novel. The only issue I had with this novel was the fight scenes. They were incredibly indepth and left nothing to the imagination, which gave me a tough time to imagine it out the way the story intended. Eventually I got the hang of it and the fight scenes became super awesome. However, it’s still something that I had to make note of.

Overall, I definitely enjoyed reading this novel. I can’t wait to continue further with the series. :D I need to know what happens next with the world and the characters I have grown attached to.

2 thoughts on “Traitor’s Blade – Review

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

