A Thousand Nights – Review

A Thousand Nights

E.K Johnston


First POV, Standalone, Fairy-tale Inspired

Summary

A unique retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. Lo-Melkhiin had killed many girls. The main character knows that when he comes to their village, he’ll be taking her sister away. And that was something she wouldn’t allow.  So she takes her place to foil his plans. Now she just has to find a way to survive while being at the his court.

My Rating: 4/5

My Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Thoughts/Comments

 I actually enjoyed this novel. It was a good read, but it wasn’t a fast read. It’s actually pretty slow, but since the plot interested me, I ventured further into the novel. If the plot was boring, I would have dropped the book due to the pace of it. I’m not a fan of slow books. No one, but Lo-Melkhiin, had a name. They were either referred by their position in life. Either Sister, Father, Mother-Of-Sister, etc. This was pretty interesting. I never read a novel where none of the characters had names. And it worked pretty well. Starting out the novel, I did get confused between the positions of people in the main character’s life. So there was a bit of a learning curve with that. Either than that, the lack of names didn’t bother me.

The writing was lovely, there wasn’t anything that bothered me. It wasn’t fantastic or anything, but it was good enough to keep me reading and not complaining about it. The cover of the novel is absolutely beautiful, as well as, the jacket design. It’s just wow. I’m pretty glad I have this novel on my shelf. It looks pretty good sitting in it. :D The best part about this novel is that it’s a standalone, which means I don’t have to deal with reading the other novels in the series. Also it ended off very well. It wraps nearly everything off and gives the reader a sense of closure, which is a pretty good. It wasn’t a memorable novel. I can remember the big plot points of the novel, but none of the characters stuck out to me as far as it goes. As I was writing this up, I was having troubles remembering all the different characters and the roles they played in the storyline.

Overall, it’s a pretty good book. It was my first retelling of A Thousand and One Nights, so I can’t tell if A Thousand Nights did the fairy tale justice or not. All I know is that I enjoyed the book.

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Nights – Review

  1. alilovesbooks

    Great review. I read this a little while back and the cover is stunning. Unfortunately I found it a little too slow. I thought the lack of character names was frustrating and think it may be why I couldn’t connect to any of the characters. This is one of those books though that I think everyone either loves of hates. There isn’t much middle ground.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DrAwkto

      Thanks! Yes the cover is stunning. Haha im conflicted on whether I should have it jacket less on my shelf or not. I like both of them.

      I totally get what you mean about its love or hate for the novel. I usually skimmed through the statuses of the characters. They were too long. And having names would have been better but it was unique in its own way.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reg | She Latitude

    I’m actually in the middle of this book and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it, despite the characters being generally unmemorable! I think my review is going to be along the same lines.

    I read The Wrath and The Dawn recently, too, and picking this one so soon after I think is a bit of a mistake because TWATD also retells the same fairytale but in a more action-packed and fast-paced (and therefore more ‘palatable’ way). Have you read that one yet?

    Like

    • DrAwkto

      No I haven’t yet. I was looking into reading that novel but I haven’t gotten around to it. It’s great to hear it’s fast-paced and action packed. I might bump it up higher on my list.

      Like

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

