Reader Problems

Hey guys,

I was scrolling through wordpress and stumbled on to an interesting booktag from TheMysteryReader. I decided to give this a try. C: If you’re interested in doing this tag, go right ahead. I’m not sure how the whole tagging people works, but yeah. Do it if you think it’s cool and if you do, link me down below, I would love to read what you guys put as answers.

 

You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

20k books? How on earth did I get that many books on there. Anyways, I would most likely choose one that I’ve been super excited for. And if there isn’t a novel that I’m excited about, I would just pick up the one that is currently more popular so I had a better chance of finding someone I could talk to about it with.

 

You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

If I’m not loving it, I would just drop it. There are so many other books out there, if I spend all my time reading books I don’t love, I’ll never get to the good books that I will love.

 

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Hmm how far away am I away from the Goodreads reading challenge? I would most likely drop all my other hobbies and use every free waking hour to read. If I got really desperate, I would include all of the manga I read this year because I read a few during this year.

 

The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I shove it in my bookshelf and ignore the fact they don’t match. I have three bookshelves and I don’t often visit the other two. So if I placed the series in those shelves, it would be easy to ignore.

 

Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

No one? I mean that’s hard to believe that everyone loves it. If there truly was a case like that I would probably keep my feelings to myself and find another book I could talk to someone about. Actually, I might even approach the people who love the book and see what they like about it. Who knows, it might give me a new perspective on the book.

 

You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Oh gosh, this is a toughie. I would press my tongue against the sides of my mouth to try to stop myself from tearing up. If I know I can’t avoid it, I’ll stop reading the book and wait for a better time to continue it off. Somewhere I can cry in peace without anyone judging me.

 

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!

I would most likely re-read the book and hope it all comes back to me fairly quickly. If I believe I can remember what happened in the last novel, I would start reading the sequel. Usually I’m able to remember most events that happened if they carry on to the sequel. If not, I’ll get it over with and skim the prequel.

 

You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

What is polite? I would just tell them, I tend not to lend anyone books because of the condition they are in when they are returned. I don’t really like this question because I tend not to care if I’m lending my books out. Books are meant to be enjoyed. Sure, I would appreciate it if the reader took care of my novels, but if they didn’t, it’s not a big deal.

 

Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

HAHA. This sucks. I would re-evaluate the novels I tried reading. Was it all ebooks? All fantasy? Once I figure out what’s the cause of my reading slump, I tend to know how to combat it.

 

There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

At most, I would buy 3. If possible I would stick to 1 because I have a large TBR list anyways. So I would decide which novel I really wanted, and get that one. The others ones I could save up for, or pick it up at the library.

 

After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

If I’m really excited for them, my new books would get read right away. However, if I’m not excited for them, they will tend to sit on my shelves for months before I pick them up and read it. Poor books. At least I enjoy them when I do!

 


 

Hope you guys enjoyed reading my responses. Again, if you’re interested in doing this book tag, go right ahead. If you want, please post a link down below so I can read your response as well. :D

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

