Drama Project

For my drama project, a friend and I have decided to create a choose your own adventure game. This soon became a choose your own adventure story because we saw the value in a well thought out story. What we didn’t realize was the large scope of our ideas. We definitely were ambitious for this project. And what do you know, us working on our project also aligns with NaNoWriMo. So all you people doing NaNoWriMo this month, we feel your pain. Trying to write around 2000 words a day is tough, especially when there are other things going on in life such as other high work load classes.

 

Don’t get me wrong though, our project is going pretty well. Currently we have two main storylines. Each following the structure of Hero’s Journey, which honestly is the only path stories should take. At least from what I’ve learn in my drama class. Anyways, I went into this project with joy and excitement, and I haven’t been disappointed yet.  I love writing and I love creating plots that seem interesting, to me at least, so creating this project was a great way to kill two birds with one stone. Also the one thing I learnt from the progress of this project is that writing a story is tough. I’m not going to call it a novel just yet because we have no intentions of making it a novel. If it does reach past the 50 000 work mark, then great. But I’m very skeptical that it’ll do so.

 

This project was a huge insight for me because I realized that I really enjoy writing, however, I wouldn’t be able to make a career out of it. I have way to many other hobbies that get in the way of writing. I keep telling myself I’ll have more time to write during breaks or after uni, but who am I kidding, something else is always going to come along. Not to mention once I graduate, a full time job would take up most of the hours in my day, and after a tiring day of work attempting to write a scene that you’re stuck on might not be the best relaxing solution in the world. It might work for some people, but it doesn’t really work for me.

 

When I get writer’s block, I tend to procrastinate with games and blog posts. Sorta like what I’m doing now. It’s exactly what I’m doing now. I got too lazy? Well, I hit a block and didn’t get any inspiration to write further, so I branched off to another branch to try to help the creative juices flow better.  Anyways, it’s getting late, so I’m going to head off for a shower, and call it a day. Maybe I’ll be able to write more tomorrow. Actually, not maybe. I’m forcing myself to write regardless of this whole too lazy to write business. Writer’s block doesn’t exist, I’m just making up an excuse not to write. Heh. ><”

 

 

 

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

