Steelheart – Review

Steelheart

 Brandon Sanderson


First POV, First Volume in a Trilogy, Superheroes

Summary

Calamity happened, ten years ago and it brought in humans with superpowers. Society calls thems Epic, however, these Epics were not friends of humanity. After, David sees his father die by the hands of Steelheart, he vows to take him down any way necessary.

My Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads Rating: 3/5

Thoughts/Comments

Since this is a Sanderson novel, I did expect the writing to be great. And I was right, the writing was fluid, easy to read, and was appropriate for the age group. What I mean by is that the writing in Steelheart is very different than the writing in his other novels such as Mistborn, and Way of Kings. The plot of Steelheart fell short for me. It was fairly predictable and shallow. It was event after event without any proper character development. The romance of this novel was obvious, I was hoping there wouldn’t be any romance, but it seemed like it would have been appropriate for a teen like David to get a crush.

Sanderson did do a decent job building David’s character. He was funny, passionate, and awkward at some times. There were a lot of moments where I just cringed at the awkwardness of David. It takes a pretty good author to create a legitimate awkward character. I didn’t like any of the other characters. Some of their backstory was pretty obvious and I felt like they could have been developed better. That being said, Steelheart is the first in a trilogy so maybe the characters will get better. I’ll most likely pick up the series maybe if I have nothing else to read. Overall Steelheart was a pretty enjoyable read for me. I wouldn’t say I really liked it, it was just good for me. Hence my 3/5 rating on goodreads.

Talk to the Tavern Keeper

